Indian women's cricket team captain list with photos

In the international Indian women cricket team captain is represented by the Indian women’s national cricket team, commonly known as the Women in Blue or Team India.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is in charge of the team. In addition to their T20I debut against England in 2006, the Indian women cricket team captain made their ODI debut at the 1978 World Cup and their Test debut in 1976.

While it is no secret that women’s cricket and cricketers have not received the same amount of exposure, female cricket has made significant progress in recent years.

The Indian women cricket team captain were at the forefront of this transformation.

Take a look at the List of Indian Women Cricket Team Captain:

1Shantha Rangaswamy 1982-1984164120
2Nilima Jogalekar1995-2005100 503515
3Diana Edulji1973-1994201082
4Shubhangi Kulkarni1986-19861010
5Sandhya Agarwal1984-199513 1030
6Purnima Rau1995-19958530
7Pramila Bhatt1990-1998227123
8Chanderkanta Kaul1999-19994310
9Anjum Chopra2002-20122810170
10Mamatha Maben2003-2004191450
11Mithali Raj2004-202215589630
12Jhulan Goswami2008-20112512130
13Smriti Mandhana2013100503515
14Harmanpreet Kaur2013-2023141121

1. Shantha Rangaswamy 

Under her leadership, the Indian women’s national cricket team won its first-ever Test match.

From 1976 to 1991, Shantha participated in 16 Women’s Test cricket matches for India, captaining the team in 8 of those matches (1976–1977) and 4 of those (1982–1984). She was also one of the top Indian women cricket team captain.

In her 16 Test matches as a right-handed hitter, she amassed 750 runs at an average of 32.6. She also made history by becoming the first Indian lady cricket player to score a century.

Shantha Rangaswamy 1982-1984164120

2. Nilima Jogalekar

As both a middle-order batsman and a wicketkeeper, Nilima demonstrated her critical role in the team. Indian women cricket team captain and during the Women’s Cricket World Cup in 1978, she made her debut for her country.

She participated in 20 ODI matches and six Test matches for India during her seven-year career. This celebration coincided with India’s 500th Test match against New Zealand.

Nilima Jogalekar1995-2005100 503515

3. Diana Edulji

Indian women cricket team captain, Diana a Mumbai native and member of a Parsi family, developed an early interest in sports.

She competed in junior nations table tennis and basketball before taking up cricket. She was the first bowler to reach 100 wickets in a Women’s Test match.

Some of these tests, nevertheless, were ultimately determined to be unauthorized. She concluded with 120 international wickets total and took 63 Test wickets, according to the official records. 

Diana Edulji1973-1994201082

4. Shubhangi Kulkarni

She was the secretary of the Women’s Cricket Association of India, a former captain, and one of the best match administrators in history.

Making her international debut against the West Indies in 1986, the leg spinner and handy lower-order hitter went on to become one of the most dynamic performers of her era.

Shubhangi Kulkarni1986-19861010

5. Sandhya Agarwal

From 1984 to 1995, Sandhya, an Indore native, played in 13 Test matches for India. She proceeded to amass 1,100 runs at a 50.45 average.

In 21 One-Day Internationals, she also wore the national jersey and scored 567 runs. In addition to the national squad, Sandhya made multiple appearances for the Railways. 

Sandhya Agarwal1984-199513 1030
  1. Purnima Rau

Purnima was an influential all-round player who could bowl off-spin in addition to being a right-handed batsman. Rau made her debut in 1993 and gained notoriety for being among the first players in Indian women cricket team captain to try to exploit the pitch limitations imposed. 

Purnima Rau1995-19958530

7. Pramila Bhatt

In one Test and seven One-Day Internationals, Pramila, a different former cricket player, led the national team. She batted middle order and bowled right arm off break while playing as an all-rounder.

The Women’s Cricket World Cup 1997/98 draw versus New Zealand in the ODI match is the match that most people remember Pramila’s time and term as captain for.

Pramila Bhatt1990-1998227123

8. Chanderkanta Kaul

She was a right-handed batsman who represented India in 31 One-Day Internationals and 5 Test matches between 1993 and 2000. In addition, she performed in 2001 and 2007–2008 for the county team Middlesex.

Chanderkanta Kaul1999-19994310

9. Anjum Chopra

Anjum, one of the most well-known female cricket players, made her debut for her country at the age of 17 against New Zealand in 1995.

She made a name for herself and rose to prominence in India as the face of women’s cricket. She was the top Indian women cricket team captain.

Anjum Chopra2002-20122810170

10. Mamatha Maben

Mamatha played 40 ODIs and 4 Test matches for the national team. In 2003 and 2004, she led the team as Indian women cricket team captain while playing as an all-rounder. She has coached the women’s national teams of China and Bangladesh after her retirement.

Mamatha Maben2003-2004191450

11. Mithali Raj

In addition to holding multiple records, she has received other honours for her exceptional achievements.

These include the Padma Shri in 2015, the Arjuna Award in 2003, the Wisden Leading Woman Cricketer in the World in 2017, and the Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna in 2021. She was one of India’s top captains for the women’s cricket squad.

Mithali Raj2004-202215589630

12. Jhulan Goswami

In the cricket world, right-arm quick bowlers are also held in high respect.

She held the record for most wickets taken in Indian women cricket team captain One Day International Cricket history with 255 taken in 204 ODI matches before retiring in 2022.

She won the M.A. Chidambaram Award for Best Women’s Cricketer in 2011 in addition to the ICC Women’s Player of the Year award in 2007.

Jhulan Goswami2008-20112512130

13.  Smriti Mandhana

Indian women cricket team captain and Cricket fans around the world are enthralled with Smriti Mandhana. She was the Women’s IPL 2023 player with the highest salary.

Smriti, a left-handed batter, has demonstrated her poise and skill set several times.

The British Council of Cricket in India (BCCI) named her “the Best Women’s International Cricketer” in June 2018.

She was named the Indian Women’s T20I squad’s captain for the three-match series against England in February 2019.

Smriti Mandhana2013100503515

14. Harmanpreet Kaur

Under Harmanpreet Kaur’s leadership, the Indian women cricket team captain national team is performing admirably.

She is an all-around player who has performed well when called upon. Kaur became the first female player from India to achieve a century in a Women’s Twenty20 International (WT20I) match in November 2018.

Adding another achievement to her list is that she became the first Indian cricket player—male or female—to play in 100 Twenty20 international matches. 

Harmanpreet Kaur2013-2023141121


In Conclusion, the Indian women cricket team captain has had many outstanding captains throughout the years, and each one has helped the team succeed and advance in the sport.

Since sports teams’ leadership positions might change over time, please check for the most recent information available.

Also, check out Best Women’s Asia Cup Winners List from 2004 to 2022

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *