Discover the Top 5 Slowest Centuries In IPL. Explore all the details regarding the century date, venues, sixes, fours etc.

IPL has witnessed many amazing performances and high scores since the start of the season in 2008. Over the years there have many records made and some of them have been broken too. One of the great records in IPL is to have centuries in this league. Since the IPl is based on the T20 format it is quite rare that a batsman achieved this record in their career. However, some of the batters have done it very effortlessly by dominating the match with their centuries. One such record in centuries is the slowest centuries In IPL. Here we listed the Top 5 Slowest Centuries In IPL. Check it out!

List of Top 5 Slowest Centuries In IPL

Sr NoPlayer NameScoreBalls Faced4s6sS.RAgainstVenueDate
1Virat Kohli113*72124156.94Rajasthan RoyalsSawai Mansingh StadiumIPL 2024
2Manish Pandey114*73104156.16Deccan ChargersCenturionIPL 2009
3Sachin Tendulkar100*66123151.51Kochi Tuskers KeralaWankhede StadiumIPL 2011
4Jos Buttler10068115147.86Mumbai IndiansDY Patil StadiumIPL 2022
5David Warner107*6995155.07Kolkata Knight RidersDelhiIPL 2010

1. Virat Kohli (RCB) – 113* against Rajasthan Royals, IPL 2024

The first slowest century in the IPL was smashed by none other than Virat Kohli. It came very recently in the 2024 IPL at Jaipur on April 6, 2024 against RR. Sanju Samson, the captain of RR won the toss and they decided to field first. The opening pair of RCB, Virat Kohli and Faf du Plessis scored 125 runs until the loss of the first wicket. Virat Kohki then continues to smashed 113* off 74 deliveries in which he hit 12 fours and 4 sixes. He completed his century off 66 balls. RCB put up the target of 183/3 in 20 overs. However, RR chased the target and won the match.

2. Manish Pandey (RCB) – 114* against  Deccan Chargers, IPL 2009

The second slowest century in IPL was smashed by Manish Pandey. It came against Deccan Chargers in IPL 2009 56th match. Manish Pnadey was playing for RCB at that time and Anil Kumble was the captain. He won the toss and decided to bat first in the match. Manosh opened really well and smashed 114* runs off 73 deliveries in which he hit 4 sixes and 10 fours. He completed his century off 67 deliveries which is the same as Virat Kohli and they both share the record of hitting slowest centuries in IPL. RCB made 170/4 in 20 overs and DC made 158/6 in 20 overs. Hence, RCB won the match with 12 runs.

3. Sachin Tendulkar (Mumbai Indians) – 100* against Kochi Tuskers Kerala, IPL 2011

The third slowest century in the IPL was smashed by the God of cricket Sachin Tendulkar. It came in the 2011 IPL at Wankhede Stadium against Kochi Tuskers Kerala. Sachin was the captain of Mumbai Indians at that time. KTK won the toss and they decided to field first in the match. Mumbai Indians started well and Sachin smashed his first ever IPL century 100* off 66 deliveries in which he hit 12 fours and 3 sixes. Overall MI posted 182/2 score including Ambati Rayudu’s 53 runs off 33 deliveries. However, KTK chased excellently with Brendon McCullum 81 runs off  60 deliveries and Jayawardene 56 runs. Therefore, KTK won the match with 8 wickets in just 19 overs.

4. Jos Buttler (Rajasthan Royals) – 100 against Mumbai Indians, IPL 2022

The fourth slowest century in the IPL was smashed by Jos Buttler. It came in the 2022 IPL at DY Patil Stadium and he was playing for Rajasthan Royals. The match was against Mumbai Indians. Rohit Sharma, captain of MI won the toss and elected to field first in the match. Jos Buttler was in great form in the 2022 IPL. He made a total 800 runs in that season. Now in this match, he smashed a century 100 off 66 deliveries in which he hit 11 fours and 5 sixes. Unfortunately he got out and couldn’t score more runs. After him, Shimron Hetmyer 35 and Sanju Samson’s 30 helped RR post a target of  193/8.

Mumbai Indians fought well to chase the target with Ishan Kishan 54 and Tilak Varma 61 runs. However,RR bowlers Navdeep Saini and Yuzvendra Chahal were quick to get two wickets each for MI. Hence, MI lost the match by 23 runs and made 170/8 in 20 overs.

5. David Warner (Delhi Capitals) – 107* against  KKR, IPL 2010

The fifth slowest century in the IPL was smashed by David Warner. It came in the 2010 IPL in the 26th match and he was playing for Delhi Daredevils at that time. The match was against Kolkata Knight Riders. 

Gautam Gambhir was the captain of DD and he won the toss and elected to bat first. David Warner started very well and made 107* runs off 69 deliveries in which he hit 9 fours and 5 sixes. David Warner smashed the century in 66 balls and it was the highest score of the match. 

Delhi Daredevils made 177/4 in 20 overs. KKR batters were not once settled as the DD bowler’s bowling was excellent. Eventually, KKR lost the match by 40 runs and made  137/9.

About Author