Discover Chinnaswamy Stadium Records in IPL: Highest, Lowest, Average scores and many more records details recorded at this stadium.

Chinnaswamy Stadium was previously known as the Karnataka State Cricket Association Stadium. It is located in Bengaluru, India. The stadium was built in the year 1969, more than 50 years old. It has a capacity of filling 33,800 people to watch the matches. The Chinnaswamy Stadium has hosted many international and domestic cricket matches including IPL. It has several outstanding records, performances and memorable matches record of IPL. Till now the Chinnaswamy Stadium has hosted 91 IPL matches. Each of the matches has its records and performances. Every IPL team and player has made the record at Chinnaswamy Stadium. But since the RCB is their home team. Most of the m.Chinnaswamy Stadium Bengaluru IPL records feature Royal Challengers Banglore. Here we have gathered every Chinnaswamy stadium IPL records in detail. Check it out!

Chinnaswamy Stadium Pitch Condition

The pitch at the Chinnaswamy Stadium is like the usual pitch which is flat and has a dew in the evening. Both these features of the Chinnaswamy Stadium pitch make the batsmen score more runs in the second innings. However, the first innings can be more challenging for the batsmen due to the turn in the ball. In addition, the ground is relatively smaller than the other cricketing ground. This allows the batsmen to hit more boundaries and bigger shots conveniently. Chinnaswamy Stadium has witnessed many big targets by many teams and some of the highest individual scores by a player. 

What is the Chinnaswamy stadium average score in IPL?

The Chinnaswamy stadium average score in IPL is usually around 171 in the first innings. At times the average score may exceed due to the outstanding display of batting. Or it can get low due to unfortunate batting lineup failures of the team. However, in IPL 2024 SRH broke all records and scored 287 runs at Chinnaswamy Stadium while batting first.

Chinnaswamy Stadium Records – Highest Team Scores

Sr. NoTeamScoreOpponentYear
1.Sunrisers Hyderabad287Royal Challengers Bangalore2024
2.Royal Challengers Bangalore263Pune Warriors India2013
3.Royal Challengers Bangalore262Sunrisers Hyderabad2024
4.Royal Challengers Bangalore248Gujarat Lions2016
5.Royal Challengers Bangalore227Sunrisers Hyderabad2016
Chinnaswamy stadium records

Chinnaswamy Stadium Records -Lowest Team Score

Sr. No. TeamScoreOpponentYear
1.Royal Challengers Bangalore82Kolkata Knight Riders2008
2.Kings XI Punjab88Royal Challengers Bangalore2015
3.Rajasthan Royals92Royal Challengers Bangalore2010
4.Gujarat Lions104Royal Challengers Bangalore2016
5.Kolkata Knight Riders107Mumbai Indians2017
Chinnaswamy Stadium Records

Top Innings by Batsmen at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in the IPL

PlayerScore OppositionYear
CH Gayle (RCB)175 (66)PW2013
BB McCullum (KKR)158 (73)RCB2008
AB de Villiers (RCB)129 (52)GL2016
CH Gayle (RCB)117 (57)KXIP2015
WP Saha (KXIP)115 (55)KKR2014
Top Innings by Batsmen at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium

Top 5 Chinnaswamy Stadium Highest Scorer in IPL

Sr. No. PlayerRuns
1.Virat Kohli2924
2.AB de Villiers1973
3.Chris Gayle1563
4.MS Dhoni464
5.Faf du Plessis446
Top 5 Chinnaswamy Stadium Highest Scorer

Top 5 Leading Wicket Takers at Chinnaswamy Stadium in IPL

Sr. No. PlayerWickets
1.Yuzvendra Chahal52
2.Zaheer Khan28
3.Vinay Kumar27
4.S. Aravind25
5.Umesh Yadav25
Top 5 Leading Wicket Takers at Chinnaswamy Stadium

Outstanding Bowling Performances at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in the IPL

Bowler Wickets and Runs ConcededOppositionYear
Samuel Badree (RCB)4 for 9MI2017
Ashish Nehra (CSK)4 for 10RCB2015
CJ Jordan (RCB)4 for 11GL2016
DS Kulkarni (GL)4 for 14RCB2016
S Aravind (RCB)4 for 14KXIP2011
Outstanding Bowling Performances at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium

Royal Challengers Bangalore’s Success Rate at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in the IPL

Royal Challengers Bangalore has played a total of 89 matches at M Chinnaswamy Stadium. They have won 41 matches out of 89 matches held at Chinnaswamy Stadium. Their winning percentage is approx 48% at their home ground in IPL which is pretty decent.

Memorable Moments and Milestones

The M Chinnaswamy Stadium has many unforgettable memorable moments and milestones which are recorded in the history of IPL. We have seen many outstanding centuries, the highest team score and individual score making their way at Chinnaswamnty Stadium marking it as one of the memorable modest records.

The most recent record made at Chinnaseamy ground was by Sunrisers Hyderabad. They smashed 287 runs in their first innings against RCB in IPL 2024 which is the highest team score ever in the history of IPL as well as at Chinnaswamy Stadium. 

Another memorable moment was the highest individual score ever in IPL by Chris Gayle at Chinnaswamy Stadium. He scored 175 runs off 66 deliveries against Pune Warriors India in 2013. 

In addition, Virat Kohli completed his 4,000 runs in IPL at Chinnaswamy Stadium which is another great milestone for this stadium. Plus the most iconic moment of Chinnawasmy Stadium was when AB De Villiers smashed  129 off 52 deliveries against Gujarat Lions in 2016. Other than these records and milestones there are many great records of Virta Kohli and other players at Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Who has the highest record in Chinnaswamy Stadium?

Royal Challengers Bengaluru has the highest record in Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Which team has the most records in IPL?

Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings have the most records in IPL as they both have won 5 IPL titles.

Who is the top wicket-taker in Chinnaswamy Stadium?

Yuzvendra Chahal is the top wicket-taker in Chinnaswamy Stadium. He has taken 52 wickets till now at Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Which stand is best at Chinnaswamy Stadium?

The B(upper and lower) and C(upper and lower) stands are the best at Chinnaswamy Stadium. Their ticket cost range of these stands is approx Rs. 2300 and Rs.1700 respectively.

About Author