Indians are crazy about cricket. They love to watch cricket and see this game as their religion. People love to watch cricket on TV but the maximum number of people love to watch the game in stadiums. We will evaluate the total number of cricket stadium in India here in detail.

People wish to go to stadiums to watch cricket in person. There are several cricket stadiums in India which are beautifully constructed and have the capacity to accommodate large numbers of crowds. 

India has a large number of cricket stadiums that are active in comparison to other countries.

India has the largest cricket stadium named Narendra Modi Stadium in the world. This article will show the total number of cricket stadiums in India. 

List of Total Number of Cricket Stadium in India:

There are 55 total number of cricket stadium in India. In which 26 international cricket stadiums are active and the remaining 29 are used for domestic cricket. We will see the list of international and domestic cricket stadiums here. 

International Total Number Of Cricket Stadium In India:

Sr. NoStadium NamePlaceCapacityTotal No Of Matches PlayedFirst match
1Eden GardensKolkata68,00042315 January 1935
2M. A. Chidambaram StadiumChennai50,00034210 February 1934
3Arun Jaitley Cricket StadiumNew Delhi41,00034310 November 1948
4Brabourne StadiumMumbai20,00018919 December 1948
5Green Park StadiumKanpur39,00023112 January 1952
6M. Chinnaswamy StadiumBengaluru40,00025222 November 1974
7Wankhede StadiumMumbai33,10825223 January 1975
8Barabati StadiumCuttack45,00021927 January 1982
9Sawai Mansingh StadiumJaipur23,18511912 October 1983
10Narendra Modi StadiumAhmedabad132,00015212 November 1983
11Inderjit Singh Bindra StadiumMohali26,00015222 November 1993
12Dr. Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy International Cricket StadiumVisakhapatnam25,0002105 April 2005
13Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket StadiumHyderabad55,00051016 November 2005
14Holkar StadiumIndore30,0003715 April 2006
15Vidarbha Cricket Association StadiumNagpur45,000796 November 2008
16Maharashtra Cricket Association StadiumPune37,40621020 December 2012
17Saurashtra Cricket Association StadiumRajkot28,0002411 January 2013
18JSCA International Cricket StadiumRanchi50,0002519 January 2013
19Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association StadiumDharamshala23,0001927 January 2013
20Greater Noida Sports Complex GroundGreater Noida8,00056 March 2017
21Assam Cricket Association StadiumGuwahati55,000210 October 2017
22Greenfield International StadiumThiruvananthapuram55,00027 November 2017
23Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket StadiumDehradun25,000153 June 2018
24Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket StadiumLucknow50,000186 November 2018
25Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Cricket StadiumRaipur65,000121 January 2023
26DY Patil StadiumNavi Mumbai55,000211 November 2008

Domestic Total Number Of Cricket Stadium In India:

Sr. NoStadium NamePlaceCapacityTotal No of Matches PlayedFirst Match
1Indira Priyadarshini StadiumVisakhapatnam25,000510 December 1988
2University GroundLucknow123 October 1952
3Lal Bahadur Shastri StadiumHyderabad25,0001719 November 1955
4Jawaharlal Nehru StadiumChennai26,97696 January 1956
5Vidarbha Cricket Association GroundNagpur40,000233 October 1969
6Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel StadiumAhmedabad50,000125 November 1981
7Gandhi StadiumJalandhar16,000420 December 1981
8Gandhi Sports Complex GroundAmritsar16,000212 September 1982
9Sher-i-Kashmir StadiumSrinagar213 October 1983
10Moti Bagh StadiumVadodara18,00039 November 1983
11Nehru StadiumIndore25,00091 December 1983
12Keenan StadiumJamshedpur19,000107 December 1983
13Nehru StadiumGuwahati25,0001417 December 1983
14Jawaharlal Nehru StadiumDelhi60,000228 September 1984
15University StadiumThiruvananthapuram20,00021 October 1984
16Nehru StadiumPune25,000115 December 1984
17Sector 16 StadiumChandigarh30,000627 January 1985
18Madhavrao Scindia Cricket GroundRajkot15,000127 October 1986
19Nahar Singh StadiumFaridabad25,000819 January 1988
20Captain Roop Singh StadiumGwalior18,0001222 January 1988
21Gymkhana GroundMumbai15,000115 December 1933
22Fatorda StadiumMargao19,000725 October 1989
23K. D. Singh Babu StadiumLucknow25,000227 October 1989
24Moin-ul-Haq StadiumPatna25,000315 November 1993
25IPCL Sports Complex GroundVadodara20,0001028 October 1994
26Jawaharlal Nehru StadiumKochi65,00091 April 1998
27Barkatullah Khan StadiumJodhpur30,00028 December 2000
28Indira Gandhi StadiumVijayawada25,000124 November 2002
29Railway Ground DhanbadDhanbad5,000512 September 2008

The total number of cricket stadium in India has a vast history that has some iconic match memories. Each stadium in India has a history that is been remembered till today.

Moreover, some cricket stadiums are recognised due to the incident that happened there during cricket matches.

The total number of cricket stadium in India surpasses the number of cricket stadiums in England.

England has 23 active cricket stadiums. Also, India has one of the biggest cricket stadiums in the world named Narendra Modi Stadium. It has the largest sitting capacity of 132,000 situated in the Ahmedabad city of Gujarat.

The other cricket stadiums in India which are very iconic are Eden Garden, Wankhade etc due to the iconic moment in Indian cricket history. 

We hope that we have covered the whole list of the total number of Cricket Stadium in India with the correct details.

Also now everyone can know the active cricket stadiums and domestic cricket stadiums easily with the help of a separate list listed above. 

Also, check out Wankhede Stadium IPL Records: Highest Scores & More

About Author