Women cricket T20 Winner

The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup has not only been a platform for thrilling matches, outstanding performances, and exciting moments but has also played a significant role in the international ground and development of women’s T20 cricket. 

Since its starting in 2009, the tournament has witnessed a remarkable expansion, which shows the sport’s increasing popularity and competitiveness.

In 2009, eight teams competed; now, there are ten teams. Teams qualify based on their WT20I rankings and through the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup qualifier.

England, the Women’s T20 World Cup pioneers, set the stage by winning the inaugural tournament in 2009. 

However, Australia quickly established its dominance, capturing six out of the next seven titles. The only exception was in 2016, when the West Indies were the champions, leaving Australia as the runners-up. In this blog, we will explore the Women’s T-20 World Cup winners and experience the fierce competition among them.

Know the 8 names of ICC Women’s T20 World Cup winners

EditionWinnerWin MarginRunner upHost
2009England6 WicketsNew ZealandEngland
2010Australia3 runsNew ZealandWest Indies
2012Australia4 runsEnglandSri Lanka
2014Australia6 WicketsEnglandBangladesh
2016West Indies8 wicketsAustraliaIndia
2018Australia8 WicketsEnglandWest Indies
2020Australia85 runsIndiaAustralia
2023Australia19 RunsSouth AfricaSouth Africa

1. England-ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2009 winner 

England hosted the first Women’s T20 World Cup and beat New Zealand by six wickets in the final at Lord’s. Claire Taylor from England was named Player of the Tournament for her excellent batting.

In the 2009 tournament, England won all their five matches. They won the league stage games, the semi-final against Australia, and the final.

2. Australia-ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2010 winner

Australia won its first ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in 2010 in the Caribbean. In the group stage, it beat England, South Africa, and West Indies. In the semi-final, it easily defeated India.

The final against New Zealand was very close and low-scoring. Australia scored only 106/8. Ellyse Perry’s excellent bowling, with figures of 3/18, helped stop New Zealand from reaching the target. New Zealand fell short by three runs.

3. Australia-ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2012 winner

Australia won their second consecutive ICC Women’s T20 World Cup title in Colombo in another exciting final. Even though they lost to England in the group stage, Australia reached the semi-finals with big wins against India and Pakistan.

Australia was strong and easily won the semi-final against the West Indies. They then beat England by four runs in the final to secure the title.

4. Australia-ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2014 winner 

Meg Lanning and her team won the third one after another ICC Women’s T20 World Cup title in 2014. This tournament was the first time they had 10 teams playing. Australia had a rocky start, losing to New Zealand in their first game. But they bounced back with three wins against South Africa, Ireland, and Pakistan, securing a spot in the semi-finals.

In the semi-final, Australia defeated West Indies by eight runs at Mirpur. The final match was not close, as Australia restricted England to 105/8 and chased down the target with plenty of balls to spare.

5. West Indies-ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2016 winner 

In the 2016 tournament in India, West Indies stopped Australia from winning their fourth consecutive title by beating them in the final. The match was held in Kolkata. Australia scored 148/5, setting a good target. But Hayley Matthews and captain Stafanie Taylor played well for West Indies, and they chased the score in the final over to win.

In the group stage, West Indies lost only to England. They won against Pakistan, Bangladesh, and India in the rest of the matches. Then, in the semi-finals, they defeated New Zealand on their way to winning the T20 title.

6. Australia-ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2018 winner 

The Australian team won the Women’s T20 World Cup again in 2018 in the Caribbean. Just like in 2014, they played against England in the final. Australia bowled out England for 105 runs in the final match. Then, they comfortably chased down the score with almost five overs to spare.

Alyssa Healy, the wicketkeeper, scored the most runs in the tournament in 2018. Because of her performance, she received the Player of the Tournament award.

Australia won five of its six matches in the Caribbean. Its only loss was against India in its last group match.

7. Australia-ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 winner 

Australia, which had previously won the Women’s T20 World Cup four times, hosted the tournament for the first time in 2020. After losing their first match against India, they won against Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and New Zealand.

In the semi-final in Sydney, Australia beat South Africa by five runs using the D/L method. This win took them to the final against India. The final match was held at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) in front of 86,174 people.

Australia played very well in the final match, both in batting and bowling. They beat the Indian team by 85 runs, the largest victory in a Women’s T20 World Cup final.

8. Australia: ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 winner

The 2023 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup was the eighth time the tournament had been held. It took place in South Africa from 10 February to 26 February 2023, and the final match was held in Cape Town.

South Africa didn’t need to qualify because they were hosting the tournament. The other teams were in the top seven in the ICC Women’s T20I Rankings as of 30 November 2021. These teams also played in the 2020 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in Australia. The last two teams, Ireland and Bangladesh, got in by being the finalists in the qualifying tournament.

 Australia won its sixth and third consecutive title after beating the hosts, South Africa, in the final by 19 runs. Ashleigh Gardner was the Player of the Tournament in 2023. She scored 110 runs and took 10 wickets for Meg Lanning’s team.

The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup: History

The World Cup is not new to women’s cricket. The Women’s Cricket World Cup started in 1973. However, The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, known as the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 until 2019, is an international cricket championship for women that was held in England in 2009.

It occurs every two years. The International Cricket Council (ICC), the main body for cricket, organizes the event.

In the first three tournaments, there were eight teams. Starting from the 2014 tournament, the number of teams increased to ten. In July 2022, the ICC announced that Bangladesh will host the 2024 tournament and England will host the 2026 tournament. In the 2026 tournament, the number of teams will increase to twelve.

Some teams automatically qualify for the tournament based on their rankings. Other teams must compete in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier to earn a spot. Australia is the most successful team, having won the tournament six times.


Since its beginning in 2009, the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup has seen exciting matches and amazing performances. Teams like Australia have dominated, winning multiple times, while others have shown great skill and determination. The tournament has grown, with more teams participating and new champions emerging. It is a celebration of women’s cricket and showcases the talent and passion of players worldwide.

About Author